Santee Education Complex

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
****Every student and staff member matters for Santee's SQI! ****Santee's Collared Shirt Dress Code is Black and Tan collared shirts ****  Every Wednesday is College Shirt Wednesday!  Any college shirt is acceptable **** Friday's continue to be Santee Spirit Day!!  Santee shirts are allowed and encouraged! **** Santee Falcons work hard, work efficient, and work consistently EVERY DAY!  **** GO FALCONS!!  Working together, ALL Santee Falcons Will SOAR! **** Follow us on Instagram and Facebook @santeefalcons **** CLASS of 2018 SAT/ACT Fee Waivers in College Center during LUNCH****
Staff Login Click here to become a falcon!
College Resources » Check college accreditation!

Check college accreditation!

If you value your time and money, then college accreditation is extremely important!  If a college is accredited, then other colleges will accept transfer credits from the college and will honor degrees from the college.  If a college is not accredited, you might not be able to transfer classes, and your degree might be worthless!


The only reliable type of college accreditation is accreditation by a regional accreditation agency.  Below are the 6 regional accreditation agencies that certify colleges in the U.S.  If you attend a college that isn’t certified by one of these agencies, then your credits will probably not transfer to another college if you change your mind about your degree or career objective.  You have been warned!

Update: Many colleges are no longer allowed to utilize Cal Grants for their students.   You should avoid these colleges!  Open the “Colleges Ineligible for Cal Grants” file below.


Investigate the accreditation of a college by clicking here!


The 6 trustworthy regional accreditation agencies: 

(Note that California colleges should be accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges)


The Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools

Accreditation of colleges in the middle states region (Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico).


The New England Association of Schools & Colleges

Accreditation of colleges in the New England region (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont).


The North Central Association of Colleges and Schools

Accreditation of colleges in the north central region (Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming).


The Northwest Association Of Schools And Colleges

Accreditation of colleges in the north west region (Alaska, Idaho, Utah, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington.)


The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

Accreditation of colleges in the southern region (Alabama , Florida , Georgia , Kentucky , Louisiana , Mississippi , North Carolina , South Carolina , Tennessee , Texas , Virginia)


The Western Association of Schools and Colleges

Accreditation of colleges in the western region.